703.247.4212 or Email Us.

ACCSC Leadership Team

The ACCSC Leadership Team is committed to supporting the Accrediting Commission's strategic vision to enhance the student educational experience and student achievement outcomes through the peer-review process.

Michale S. McComis | Executive Director 
(B.A., M.Ed., Ed.D., University of Virginia)

As the Executive Director, Dr. Michale McComis serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the Accrediting Commission, managing the day-to-day operation of ACCSC's Arlington, Virginia office, and overseeing the accreditation process for 700 post-secondary institutions.

  • Click Here to Download a PDF Version of a Full Biography for Dr. Michale S. McComis.

Alicia DeMartini
Director of Accreditation

(B.S. Old Dominion University; M.A. Argosy University)

Alicia DeMartini joined the Commission in April 2010 as a Senior Analyst. In her current position as the Director of Accreditation, Alicia is charged with overseeing the operations for the Accreditation Department of ACCSC. This primarily includes the management of the application for accreditation processes, the execution of onā€site evaluations, and all of the reporting and responses the Commission will need as a result.

Prior to joining ACCSC, Alicia worked for eight years at a postsecondary higher education provider working at both the corporate and school level holding various positions in academics and compliance and, prior to that, for two years as a Home/Hospital Teacher for Anne Arundel County Public Schools. Alicia earned a Bachelor of Science in Psychology from Old Dominion University and a Masters of Art in Industrial/Organizational Psychology from Argosy University.

Karen Marcinski
Director of Member Services
(M.S., Ed.S., Radford University)

Karen Marcinski joined ACCSC in 2004 as the School Actions Coordinator and in 2009 was promoted to Manager of Institutional Review and Development where she was responsible for overseeing various accreditation processes related to monitoring ongoing institutional compliance of ACCSC-accredited schools.

In her current capacity as the Director of Member Services, Karen is responsible for providing consultative guidance and feedback to ACCSC-accredited institutions in respect to the Standards of Accreditation and for leading the Commission's efforts in developing and conducting broad-based programs and publications that enhance the value of membership with ACCSC. Karen is also charged with developing and maintaining relationships with ACCSC member institutions and various organizations in the higher education community, as well as effectively communicating and reporting on membership success stories and activities.

Alanna Marx
Director of Institutional Review & Development
(M.A. Wayne State University; M.B.A Argosy University)

Alanna Marx joined ACCSC in 2011. In her current position as  Director of Institutional Review and Development (IRD), Alanna oversees the IRD department including overall departmental operations and processes, substantive changes, and all areas of institutional compliance including regulatory agency notices.

Prior to joining ACCSC, Alanna worked at Schoolcraft Community College and Montgomery Community College, in such roles as Associate Director of Admissions and as a faculty member teaching courses both online and on-ground. Alanna has also served as a program presenter of public educational programs at Cranbrook Institute of Science and currently serves as a member of ACCSC's presentation team.\

Anne Santalla
Director of Operations

(B.A., Marymount University)

Anne Santalla joined ACCSC in the fall of 2003. As the director of operations, Anne is responsible for the management and oversight of the administrative and fiscal operations of ACCSC. She has more than 18 years of nonprofit management experience and is a member of both the American Society of Association Executives and the Society for Human Resources Management.

Prior to joining the Commission, Anne served as the director of finance and administration for the American Association of University Professors. Anne also previously served as the director of administration and membership for the American Industrial Health Council.