703.247.4212 or Email Us.

Press Room

The Latest Information on ACCSC Initiatives and Activities.

Press Room

School Commissioner Election Announcement
Updated 02.15.17

ACCSC will conduct an election beginning on March 1, 2017 and ending on March 15, 2017 to fill four (4) School Commissioner vacancies. 

The following individuals are slated as candidates for the School Commissioner Election.

  • Vickie Clements - Great Lakes Institute of Technology / Toni & Guy Hairdressing Academy
  • Susan Johnson - Gemological Institute of America
  • Carol Palacios - Atlantis University 
  • Adrienne Santiago  - Career College of Northern Nevada
  • Dr. Art Waller - Vista College
  • Yasith Weerasuriya - Stanbridge University

Click here to download the School Commissioner Nomination Packet.

ACCSC encourages all of its accredited member institutions to take the time to learn more about the candidates standing for election as a School Commissioner.

U.S. Department of Education Renews ACCSC's Recognition for 5 Years

On October 28, 2016, the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) received notice of the United States Department of Education's decision to renew ACCSC's recognition for five years, the maximum time-frame permitted under federal guidelines. In reaching this decision, the Department not only found ACCSC to be in compliance with all federal requirements mandated for recognized accrediting agencies, but also recognized the work of ACCSC to improve the quality and success of U.S. postsecondary education. This marks the second consecutive 5 year recognition grant earned by ACCSC and its accredited member institutions.

As previously announced to the membership on August 23, 2016, the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI), which provides recommendations to the United States Department of Education regarding accrediting agencies that monitor the academic quality of post-secondary institutions and educational programs for federal purposes, also recommended that ACCSC’s recognition as a reliable authority on quality education be continued for five years.

  • Click Here to download the August 23, 2016 Press Release

2016 Nominating Committee Election

ACCSC is conducting an electronic election from August 17, 2016 through September 2, 2016 to fill one (1) vacant seat on the ACCSC Nominating Committee, which is charged with assisting the Commission in identifying potential candidates to fill any vacancy on the board. Based upon their desire to serve and affiliation with an ACCSC-accredited institution, the Commission is putting forth the following nominees for election by the membership to the Nominating Committee. 

  • Pamela Kraska, Daytona College 
  • Michael Zawisky, Ancora Education

The complete election instructions and candidate nomination packets can be found here. 

Call for Nominations to Serve as an ACCSC Commissioner
July 1, 2016

During this nomination cycle, ACCSC is seeking to fill (3) vacancies on the Commission:
  • Two (2) elected School Commissioners each to serve a four‐year term to begin July 1, 2017 and to end June 30, 2021;
  • One (1) appointed Public Commissioner to serve a four‐year term to begin July 1, 2017 and to end June 30, 2021

Nominees should submit a completed Call for Nominations accompanied by a current résumé to the ACCSC office via email to Maurya Scanlon, Volunteer Coordinator at mscanlon@accsc.org by October 15, 2016.

ACCSC Earns Recognition from ARRT
February 19, 2016

On January 26, 2016, the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) informed ACCSC that it had successfully earned recognition as an ARRT-recognized institutional accreditor. By earning this recognition, students who successfully complete a radiography, nuclear medicine technology, radiation therapy, magnetic resonance imaging, or sonography educational program from an ACCSC-accredited institution are eligible to pursue certification and registration.

Systematic Review of the Standards of Accreditation

The Commission is pleased to announce that it has engaged the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (“NCHEMS”) to undertake a Systematic Program of Review of the Standards of Accreditation. 

NCHEMS will conduct a forthcoming survey of other accreditors and regulators, accredited institutions, faculty, current students, graduates, and employers representing the major occupations for which ACCSC-accredited institutions train students.

 Getting Accreditation Right

On December 17, 2014, Inside Higher Ed published an article entitled Getting Accreditation Right which features a Q & A with Linda Suskie, a former vice president of a regional accrediting agency and author of the book, Five Dimensions of Quality: A Common Sense Guide to Accreditation and Accountability. In her book, Suskie provides a simple, straightforward model for understanding and meeting the calls for increased quality in higher education ever-present in today's culture.

Excerpts from the exchange between IHE and Suskie can be found here.

ACCSC Launches Online Training Center (OTC)
September 25, 2014

As announced to the ACCSC membership during the 2014 Professional Development Conference in Denver, Colorado, today, the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) launched its newly developed Online Training Center (ACCSC-OTC), www.accsctraining.org.

Powered by MaxKnowledge, the ACCSC-OTC provides a variety of free resources as well as fee-based training courses that cover a myriad of compliance elements required by ACCSC’s Standards of Accreditation. The ACCSC-OTC also offers a wide range of professional development opportunities for administrators, staff, and faculty of ACCSC-accredited institutions, including an interactive development tool to enable employees to plan, monitor, and document their professional development activities.

Focus on Member Services:  The ACCSC Monograph Series
August 15, 2014

As part of ACCSC’s ongoing commitment to member services,  the Commission has reissued The ACCSC Monograph Series which cover a diverse array of topics critical to institutional success and provide guidance on some of the more technical areas of ACCSC accreditation.  The ACCSC Monograph Series are targeted to provide performance tools to not only help schools achieve and maintain accreditation with ACCSC, but also each topic in the series contributes a unique aspect of continuous improvement processes.

More information the ACCSC Monograph Series is available to ACCSC-accredited institutions by clicking here.

ACCSC Offers Comments on Reauthorization of the Higher Education Act

May 23, 2014

ACCSC continues to participate in the dialogue with the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI) as the Committee continues with its agenda to advise the Secretary of Education on accreditation policy and considers making recommendations for changes to the Higher Education Act.

ACCSC's Executive Director Testifies in Congress on Role of Accreditation

June 13, 2013

With an increase in Congressional interest in ensuring the strength of accreditation as a gatekeeper to Title IV funds, the House Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Training hosted a hearing on June 13, 2013 entitled, “Keeping College Within Reach: Discussing Program Quality Through Accreditation” which provided members of the Subcommittee with an opportunity to explore a variety of proposals to strengthen accreditation and its gatekeeping role, as well as to discuss alternative models. At the behest of the subcommittee, ACCSC’s Executive Director, Dr. Michale McComis, accepted an invitation to provide testimony at the hearing.

Please note the full press release includes links to Dr. McComis' Testimony, the opening statement of Rep. Virginia Foxx, Subcommittee Chair, and a link to the webcast of the hearing.